Manchester City may have pipped Liverpool to the Premier League title but it’s the latter who dominate the 2021/22 PFA Premier League Team of the Year.

Six Liverpool players have been named in the side, voted for by fellow Premier League players, including goalkeeper Alisson Becker and defenders Trent Alexander-Arnold and Virgil van Dijk.

Elegant midfielder Thiago Alcantara is also named in the side for his performances in midfield, while there’s no surprise to see dynamic forward duo Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane named up front. Salah, incidentally, was also individually named PFA Players’ Player of the Year for 2022.

Joao Cancelo, Kevin De Bruyne and Bernardo Silva are the three Manchester City players who do make the team, and there’s also a space for Antonio Rudiger in defence – the German soon to depart Chelsea for Champions League winners Real Madrid.

Cristiano Ronaldo, despite Manchester United’s atrocious season, is also named up front after bagging 18 Premier League goals in his first season back in England.

#PFA #Premier #League #Team #Year